SKN and R.O.C (Taiwan) Bilateral Relations Continue with the Issuing of 2018 Scholarships

Pulse Administrator
4 Min Read

(EMU) – St. Kitts, August 23 2018: “I want to wish you well as you embark upon higher learning. Higher learning is critically important for every nation, but more so a small developing one,” echoed the Prime Minister, Hon. Dr. Timothy Harris, during his remarks at the 2018 scholarship ceremony on Wednesday 22nd August at the Ocean Terrace Inn.

Amongst family, friends and diplomats, thirteen scholars were lauded last night for their persistence and strength in academics at the annual scholarship awards ceremony organised by the embassy of the Republic of China (Taiwan) in St. Kitts and Nevis. During the awards ceremony, it was divulged that the Taiwan Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MOFA) granted nine scholarships and the International Cooperation and Development Fund (ICDF) granted the remaining four.

Newly appointed Taiwanese Ambassador, His Excellency (H.E.) Tom Lee, during his congratulatory remarks commended the Government of St. Kitts and Nevis for placing such strong prominence on education within their citizens. “I can tell that education is strongly emphasized here in St. Kitts and Nevis and we (Taiwan) are very willing to share our experiences in Education and our office will continue to work hard and send more students from St. Kitts and Nevis to Taiwan to study.”

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education et al, Hon. Shawn Richards, expressed appreciation and praised the R.O.C Taiwan for keeping its commitment to collaborate with the Federation. “The Federal Ministry of Education owes a tremendous debt of gratitude to the Government and people of the Republic of China (Taiwan) for its unwavering support to the educational advancement of our people in general and the youth of the Federation in particular.”

Reflecting on the mutually beneficial relationship the Taiwan has with the government of St. Kitts and Nevis over the past 35 years Minister Richards stated, “As a nation, we commend the outgoing ambassador H.E. George Chiou for his contribution to nation building, as he worked diligently and persistently over the past three years. We welcome with open arms the new resident ambassador, H.E. Tom Lee as he seeks to continue the diplomatic ties between the two countries.”

Present at the ceremony were, H.E. Sir S.W. Tapley Seaton, Gover General of St. Kitts and Nevis, Senior Minister and Minister of Nevis Affair et al, Hon. Vance Amory, Hon. Eugene Hamilton, Cabinet Secretary, Josephine Huggins, Permanent Secretary for Education, William Hodge and Permanent Secretary in Foreign Affairs, Kaye Bass, family, friends and well-wishers.

The Ministry of Education congratulated each scholar on their award, and have every confidence that these young men and women will make a significant impact in their academic, professional and personal lives for many years to come.

The 2018 MOFA Scholarship awardees are, Ke-Juan Browne, Chaddessa Rodrigues, Krislee Dasent, Kyric Phillip, Jasmine Liburd, Garim Jones, Orecia Hutchinson, Kyree Marti and Daniella Murraine. The ICDF awardees are; Karen Crawford, Pierre Bowrin, Meritza Lawrence and Chalieze Browne.

Each scholarship recipient will be provided with one direct-route, economy class return air ticket, and a monthly stipend which includes, tuition fees, accommodation, insurance, living allowance and miscellaneous fees. Applications for both scholarships are open in January through March of each year.



This article was posted in its entirety as received by SKN PULSE. This media house does not correct any spelling or grammatical errors within press releases and (or) commentaries. The views contained within are not necessarily those of SKN PULSE.
Share this Article
error: SKN PULSE content is protected !!
Verified by MonsterInsights