Pulse Administrator
3 Min Read

Photo: Governor General Seaton (front row, center) and Deputy Prime Minister Richards (front row, 2nd from left) with awardees from today’s Investiture Ceremony.


Basseterre, St. Kitts, June 14, 2017 (SKNIS): The contributions of eight outstanding individuals to the development of St. Kitts and Nevis were celebrated on Wednesday (June 14) at an Investiture Ceremony at Government House.


Governor General, His Excellency S. W. Tapley Seaton, hosted the ceremony, which saw the Companion Star of Merit conferred upon Lady Hulda Lawrence for her contributions to Music. Receiving the Medal of Honour were Dalia John for her contribution to the Public Service in Education; Vanta Walters for her contribution to Early Childhood; Clarice Cotton for her contribution to Education and Special Olympics; Sylvia Isaac for her contribution to Nursing; and Maurice Widdowson for his contribution to Tourism.


The Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE) was conferred upon Elquemedo Willet for his contribution to Sports and International Cricket and Vanta Archibald for her contribution to Education including Library Services and Community Activity.


Deputy Prime Minister, Honourable Shawn Richards, addressed the invited guests at the Investiture Ceremony and reflected on the diverse background of the awardees who come from various communities across St. Kitts and Nevis.


“It says to our own young people that you too can succeed regardless of where you have come from. Regardless of your economic circumstances, regardless of your social circumstances, you too can help to build this federation,” he said, noting it requires a deep sense of conviction and commitment. “If the young people take nothing else from these persons, that is the lesson they should take from them.”


The deputy prime minister added that he remained impressed that a number of the awardees continue to serve their country and he saluted them appropriately.


A number of dignitaries attended the ceremony including, Minister of Public Infrastructure, Honourable Ian Patches Liburd, Senators Honourable Wendy Phipps and Honourable Akilah Byron, and National Hero, Dr. the Right Excellent and the Right Honourable, Sir Kennedy Simmonds.



Share this Article
error: SKN PULSE content is protected !!
Verified by MonsterInsights