20 Women Coaches Including Governor General Honoured

Pulse Administrator
1 Min Read

Story Credit: SKNOC

Twenty women, inclusive of St. Kitts and Nevis’ current and only female Governor General Dame Marcella Liburd, have been honoured by the St. Kitts and Nevis Olympic Committee/ Commonwealth Games Association (SKNOC/CGA) Women in Sports Commission, for their outstanding contributions to coaching.

Their recognition coincides with International Women’s Day (March 8) celebrations. This year’s theme is #EmbraceEquity.

The women coaches were celebrated in a brief ceremony at Olympic House. The ceremony was held ahead of global observance of International Women’s Day on March 2.

Each one of the awardees was selected by her respective Member Federation, or Sport Association, for her outstanding coaching stewardship.

“The twentieth awardee, Her Excellency Dame Marcella Liburd, a former National Netball Coach, was celebrated her decades’ long dedication to coaching services.”

The twenty awardees are:
Bernice Morton and Roatter Johnson- Athletics
Theresa Gomez and Shawna Lake- Tennis
Lizbeth Burrell and Danielle Connor – Sailing
Antoinette Henry and Brenda Allen- Volleyball
Govanie Manners Hendrickson and Azariah Vanterpool- Handball
Kaneisa Byron and Kalia Huggins- Football
Maliesha Caesar and Jaekeeda Thomas- Basketball
Jacquelyn Lewis-Bassue and Vera Herbert – Netball
Thelma Gumbs and Kishanna Huggins- Cricket
Angelisa Freeman- Table tennis
Dame Marcella Liburd- Netball

Share this Article
error: SKN PULSE content is protected !!
Verified by MonsterInsights